The Tennessee Theatre Association   Theatre images from across the state of Tennessee
About TTA
Board of Directors
2013 Conference
Latest Email Blast
Theatre Divisions:
Colleges and Universities
Community Theatres
Creative Drama
Religious Drama
Secondary Schools
Theatre for Youth

Join us on Facebook Join us on

Proud Member of American Association of Community Theatres
The Tennessee Theatre Association

The Tennessee Theatre Association was founded in 1968 with the aid of a grant from the Tennessee Arts Commission. Two hundred and thirty-five people from every part of Tennessee met in Crossville on September 7 and 8 for the first conference, and the late Paul Crabtree was elected the first president.

Over the years the purpose of the organization has remained the same: the promotion of the highest standards of theatre throughout the State of Tennessee. To accomplish that purpose, the Association serves as a vehicle for communication through its newsletters and through its annual convention.

It provides members with workshops, programs and seminars and with the opportunity to meet, work with and learn from each other as well as from invited theatre professionals from other states. TTA also serves as a liaison between Tennessee, regional, and national theatre organizations.

TTA and Theatre News

  • TTA Conference 2013 winners announced (10/28/13)

    Tennessee Community Theatre
    Festival Winners

    Outstanding Production:
    Freud's Last Session, Cookeville Performing Arts Center

    Best Director:
    Matthew Wilson, Freud's Last Session, Cookeville Performing Arts Center

    Best Actor:
    Evan Cole, Freud's Last Session, Cookeville Performing Arts Center

    Best Actress:
    Nicci Williamson, The Proposal, Foothills Community Players

    Excellence in Technical Theatre Award:
    Freud's Last Session, Cookeville Performing Arts Center

    Mass Congeniality Award:
    Maryville Youth Theatre

    Secondary School Festival Winners

    Festival Winner:
    The Exonerated, Cordova High School

    Festival Runner-up:
    American Tall Tales, LaVergne High School

    Festival Second Runner-up:
    Brother Wolf, Cookeville High School

    Best Actor:
    Nautica Beauregard, Cordova High School

    Best Actress:
    Emily Helton, Cookeville High School

    Technical Excellence Award:
    Crow and Weasel, White Station High School

    All-Star Cast:
    Kyle Quinones, LaVergne High School
    Miranda Dyer, Cordova High School
    Gavin Meyer, LaVergne High School
    Coby Webster, Cocke County High School
    Ty Hoskins, Cordova High School
    Corey Miranne, Donaldson Christian Academy
    Phillip Bond, Cordova High School
    Craig Collins, Cookeville High School
    Chase Stanford, South Gibson High School
    Antonee Uy, LaVergne High School
    Hank Clement, Madison Academic High School
    Ashley Allen, White Station High School
    Coleman Sorenson, Montgomery Bell Academy

    Freud's Last Session. The Exonerated and American Tall Tales have received invitations to represent the state of Tennessee and compete in the Southeastern Theatre Conference (SETC) competition in March, 2014 in Mobile, AL.

    TTA Scholarship Winners:

    TTA annually sponsors a scholarship in acting or design, for a high school student who will attend a Tennessee college or university and major in theatre.

    Acting Scholarship Winner:
    Sean Sterling, Signal Mountain High School
    Acting Scholarship Runner-up:
    Randy Haney, Signal Mountain High School
    Tech Scholarship Winner:
    Scarlett Smith, Maryville High School

TTA Conference 2013

October 24-27, 2013
Clayton Center for the Arts
Maryville, Tennessee

Park Overall and Chris Luter
TTA President Chris Luter presents special guest Park Overall with the 2013 Distinguished Achievement Award

2013, Tennesee Theatre Association
Contact the Webmaster